Contact Us

DUI by Consent

To successfully defend your charge of DUI by Consent in TN contact an aggressive DUI defense attorney. For a free initial consultation, contact John Milazo at 615-599-7719.

Most people are shocked when they find themselves arrested for DUI first offense, DUI second offense or DUI third offense when they were not even the one driving the car. You can be charged with DUI by Consent if you are the owner of a vehicle and you knowingly allow a third party to operate that vehicle while also knowing them to be intoxicated. In most cases, the person charged with DUI by Consent in Tennessee is also present in the vehicle when the driver is arrested. Many times a spouse is arrested for DUI first, second or third offense, and the other spouse, also an owner of the vehicle, are arrested for DUI by Consent as well. Unfortunately, pressure is then placed on the driver of the vehicle to plea to the charge of Driving Under the Influence thereby foregoing any often valid defenses to DUI they may have had. Each spouse or occupant of the vehicle charged with Driving Under the Influence first offense or DUI by Consent should consult an experienced DUI attorney with the skills and training necessary to successfully defend their rights. John Milazo of the Franklin Tennessee law firm, Milazo Law, P.C. has more than 13 years of experience representing people charged with DUI offenses in Williamson County and the surrounding Middle Tennessee area. For a free initial consultation call 615-599-7719.

DUI By Consent Defense Attorney Williamson County Tennessee

DUI by Consent a.k.a DUI by Proxy carries the same punishment as any other DUI offense, including a minimum of 48 hours in jail and loss of your driving privileges for a period of one year. See our DUI Offense Chart here. The law regarding DUI by Consent is not favored by many people in the justice system. Most DUI prosecutors, police officers and even judges will tell you that they see many problems with the DUI by Consent law. Victims of Domestic Violence or emotional abuse may be afraid to confront a spouse or partner who they believe has had too much to drink. Also, if a police officer with specialized training must require a person to submit to Standardized Field Sobriety Tasks or even a breathalyzer or blood test in order to determine if they are too intoxicated to operate a motor vehicle then how is an average person held accountable for determining another person's level of intoxication. In many jurisdictions these DUI by Consent cases are prosecuted with the same vigor as any other DUI offense. You may questions why this is the case. It all boils down to one thing, MONEY. The fines, fees and court costs for a DUI 1st offense in Williamson County Tennessee will total in excess of $1,100.00. This will be applied to many governmental and quasi-governmental agencies. Further, probation fees and DUI Driver's Safety School represent a substantial expense and provide funding for these and other agencies. Once the driver has been convicted, it can be a near certainty that the passenger will be convicted as well. An experienced DUI Defense Lawyer like John Milazo of the Franklin Tennessee law firm of Milazo Law, P.C. will take the time necessary to discern from his discussions with you and from his 13 years of experience a unique defense to Driving Under the Influence by Consent tailored to your particular situation. For a free initial consultation call 615-599-7719.

Serving clients in Williamson County, Franklin TN, Fairview TN, Spring Hill TN, Brentwood TN, Maury County, Columbia TN, Mt. Pleasant TN, Davidson County, Nashville TN, Murfreesbroro, TN, Hickman County, Centerville TN, Lyles TN, Lewis County, Hohenwald TN, Gallatin, TN, Perry County, Linden TN, Marshall County, Lewisburg TN, Bedford County, Shelbyville TN, Dickson County, Dickson TN, Burns TN, Smyrna TN, Sumner County, Robertson County, Springfield, TN and Giles County, Pulaski, TN John M. Milazo would be happy to serve you as well